Product Review: Ogilvy Jumper Memory Foam Half Pad

This may be one of the products I am most excited to review, the Ogilvy Jumper Memory Foam Half Pad!

I had just heard about Ogilvy Equestrian when I spotted one in the Dover Saddlery basement over a year ago. I had read about the benefits of their memory foam half pads and was skeptical of it really doing all that they claimed (I already had a memory foam half pad that was collecting dust at the bottom of my tack trunk because of my preference to a thicker sheepskin pad). But how could I not snatch it up? Little did I know that it was going to be the beginning of an addiction.

The Ogilvy Jumper Memory Foam Half Pads have a suede cover over two removable memory foam pads that “acts as a buffer that fills any voids between the saddle and the horse, stabilizes the saddle, and provides shock-absorption for the backs of both horse and rider” and creates the “perfect” saddle fit on every horse. The cover is stain resistant, moisture wicking, and features a V-shape design to reduce pressure on the withers.

The half pads come in three sizes that correlate to one’s saddle size in inches; small (14-16″), regular (16.5-18″), and large (18.5-20.5″). The covers are made entirely custom, adding some time and love into the production process. Choose from a handful of body colors as well as a ton of piping and binding colors to customize the pad. Embroidery, an extra row of piping, or raisers can be put on for an additional price.

The difference from my sheepskin half pad to my Ogilvy was unreal. What I first felt was a freedom in Axcent’s shoulders as the saddle was no longer pinching. The places that were too narrow were cushioned while the gaps were filled. The half pad corrected my saddle’s far-from-custom fit and molded itself to my horses back and my saddle’s underside. The shock absorption of the half pad was surprising to me since it seemed to entirely compress once I tightened my girth. I was wrong. There was plenty of extra pad to support and cushion Axcent’s back from any additional pressure. I am sure that Ax was grateful when he was finally allowed to open up his shoulders, lift his back, and use himself correctly.

The V-shape of the half pad is absolutely amazing. My saddle sits slightly closer to Ax’s withers than I prefer which pushes my saddle pads down, creating pressure. The V design at the front of my Ogilvy keeps the half pad lifted off of his withers, relieving the pressure. This is the first half pad that I have found to have this unique feature. (Side note: the Ogilvy Baby and Profile pads have the same shape!)

While the cover is indeed stain resistant, the suede material picked up shavings and hair easily. Thankfully, the pad was quickly cleaned off with a lint roller. If the pad were to get dirty or stained, all you need to do it pull out the memory foam inserts through the velcro opening, throw it in the wash with some OxyClean and a small amount of detergent on the gentle cycle, and let it air dry. The half pad cover comes out like it is brand new again.

I said before that I used two half pads since Axcent’s last chiropractor appointment and received amazing comments on how good his back looked, the Ogilvy Jumper Memory Foam Half Pad is one of those pads. This half pad has made a huge difference not only in my riding, but in my horse, too.

-TC

Published by Terisé

• New England Equestrian Blogger • • Photographer • • Editor •